Soggy Bottom Boys


This year marks the 10 year anniversary of O Brother, Where Art Thou?, the landmark film and soundtrack that sparked a cultural phenomenon. To this day it still has a significant influence and impact on modern pop as evident in some of today’s top acts, from Neo-traditional Americana bands from The Secret Sisters, The Civil Wars and Carolina Chocolate Drops to alternative mainstays Mumford & Sons, and Fleet Foxes.

For the first time since their notable O Brother, Where Art Thou? appearance, the fictional Soggy Bottom Boys reunite with original cast member Tim Blake Nelson joined by the scene stealing yodeler Pat Enright (guitar), Alan O’Bryant (banjo), and Mike Compton (mandolin), all from the Grammy® Award-winning Nashville Bluegrass Band, for a video shoot at the Tennessee State Prison for the song “In The Jailhouse Now” from the original motion picture soundtrack. Director Stephen Shepherd, who has worked with numerous artists including country star Gary Allan, was called in to direct the video.

Produced by 12-time GRAMMY® Award- and Academy Award-winner T Bone Burnett, the original O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack from the 2000 film -- written, directed and produced by the Coen Brothers and starring George Clooney, Tim Blake Nelson and John Turturro -- shot to No.1 on the Billboard Top 200 and Country charts and became a bona fide music phenomenon. Along with ALBUM OF THE YEAR honors, the album won GRAMMYs® for “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” performed by Dan Tyminski, Harley Allen and Pat Enright, and “O Death” by the legendary Dr. Ralph Stanley.

Earlier this year, UMG celebrated the 10th Anniversary with an expanded two-CD set, O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition, with legendary original producer T Bone Burnett personally involved in all aspects of this release.

The album that rocketed bluegrass, roots and even Americana music from the 20th Century into the new millennium features a 14-track bonus disc. Twelve of these newly-released songs were recorded during original sessions for the film, most of which went unheard on-screen. This release marks the first time these tracks have been made available in any format.

The second disc of the O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition features artists who appeared on the original album (John Hartford, Norman Blake, the Fairfield Four, the Cox Family and the Peasall Sisters) plus some who did not (Colin Linden, Alan O’Bryant, Ed Lewis and Van Dyke Parks). The disc’s previously recorded tracks are “Tom Devil” by Ed Lewis and the Prisoners, and “I’ll Fly Away” by the Kossoy Sisters. An alternative version of “In the Jailhouse Now”, sung by the late Harley Allen, with Pat Enright’s signature yodel, is also on the bonus disc.





The Soggy Bottom Boys "In the Jailhouse Now":



Home     Twitter     Facebook     Google+     Pinterest     Store    Contact Us     Privacy Policy

Country Music Rocks!™